Union fleurs - International Flower Trade Association


Union fleurs - International Flower Trade Association


  • The General Assembly is the supreme body of Union Fleurs and is composed of the delegates of Union Fleurs full members. It meets once a year and has full powers for :
    -  approving Union Fleurs accounts and budget,
    -  approving membership & determining membership subscriptions,
    -  electing the Board of Directors,
    -  appointing Committees & working groups and assigning them with activities
    -  revising the Union Fleurs Articles of Association
      -  guiding the general direction of Union Fleurs activities and priorities


  • The Board of Directors consists of the President, the Vice President, the Secretary General, the Chairmen of the Committees and the Relationship Manager. Directors are elected by the General Assembly for a term of two years, except for the Secretary General who is elected for a term of three years. The Board of Director has full competencies in terms of management and administration, subject to the powers of the General Assembly. The day-to –day management of the Union Fleurs office is delegated to the Secretary General.

  • The Union Fleurs Board of Directors was most recently elected at the Union Fleurs General Assembly in Gran Canaria (Spain) on 4 April 2014 for the period 2014-2016 and is composed of:

President: Herman de Boon (Netherlands)

Vice-President:  Richard Fox  (Kenya Flower Council / Kenya)

Chairman – World Trade Committee: Robert Roodenburg (VGB / Netherlands)

 Chairman – EU Section: Frank Zeiler  (BGI / Germany)

Chairman – Committee for the Americas:  Augusto Solano (Asocolflores / Colombia)

Chairman – Pot Plant Committee: Martin Estad (Danske Prydplanter / Denmark)

Relationships Manager: Gülsen Bay (Ornamental Plants & Products Exporters Union / Turkey)

Secretary General: Sylvie Mamias  



  • The Committees are appointed by the General Assembly, which also elects the Chairperson and defines their tasks and responsibilities. At present, three Committees are in place:

-  The Autonomous EU Section: set up to specifically represent towards the European Union Institutions the Union Fleurs members located in the EU Member States.

 -  The World Trade Committee: set up to address issues and activities of specific importance for the worldwide floricultural trade.

 -  The Committee for the Americas: set up to specifically address issues and activities of specific interest to North, Central and South American members.

  • Emerging or specific issues can be tackled through ad hoc working groups established by the General Assembly.
Become a member

(c) UNION FLEURS 2017  ¦  Contacts ¦  Disclaimer ¦  Terms of use ¦  Privacy policy ¦  EU Register of Interest Representatives (ETI): 14864192565-82